My Review of ‘Pulp Fiction’ (1994)

PulpFiction_Poster

I almost didn’t see this film, because I’d heard that Tarantino was incredibly violent. And, as I may have mentioned, I’m not a huge fan of gore. But I was urged to see it by a friend and am glad that I did.

The movie’s plot is a patchwork of nonlinear scenes and storylines that all revolve around a gangster named Marsellus Wallace (Vhing Rhames), his wife, Mia (Uma Thurman), a pair of hit men (Samuel Jackson and John Travolta), and a boxer named Butch (Bruce Willis). Each of them has a story that’s told out of order and intersects with the others in various ways.

Pulp Fiction - Montage

Some of the best parts of the movie go to supporting characters. Such as Harvey Keitel, who plays a cleanup man named Winston Wolfe. Keitel enjoys many a scene-stealing moment, such as these:

PulpFiction6

Then there’s Christopher Walken as Butch’s dad. He does such a great impression of … himself basically …

PulpFiction1

Even the part where someone gets his head blown off in the back seat of a car is more cartoonish than it is grisly. In fact, the movie is flat-out funny in a darkly humorous way.

The intertwining plot lines fit together so seamlessly, it’s a bit mind-blowing. Given such a complex structure, the film invites multiple viewings — an invitation I’ve accepted on many occasions. All I can say is kudos to Tarantino, who wrote the screenplay. It’s the kind of thing I wish I’d written.

Labeled by cinema critics as both “black comedy” and “neo-noir,” Pulp Fiction is without a doubt one of the most clever postmodern crime films ever.

After seeing this film, I’ll never be able to go to a diner without thinking, “Garçon means boy.”

The movie is a “two thumbs up” treat!

Hand showing thumbs up. All on white background.

This entry was posted in Black Comedy, Crime Fiction, Neo-Noir and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Review of ‘Pulp Fiction’ (1994)

  1. alliesumner says:

    I loved this movie. It’s so intricate and expertly done. I’ve probably watched it a million times. Recently found out my husband hasn’t seen it so I’ll need to remedy that asap!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

