Great Times at the Austin Film Festival

debbi-aff2016

One of the great things about being a movie lover and a screenwriter is going to the Austin Film Festival. Because, believe it or not, even though I’ve written and published six novels and two screenplays, I always learn something there. Extremely useful things, in fact.

Here’s a photo I took at the social media panel. Not one of my better pictures, admittedly. I’ve certainly taken less blurry ones.

Blurry photo of the social media panel.

Blurry photo of the social media panel.

So here’s a better photo—one I took at the panel about writing sports movie screenplays.

"Sporting the Screenplay" panel!

“Sporting the Screenplay” panel!

To be honest, I accidentally walked into this one. But while I was listening, I came up with the craziest idea for a sports movie. I can’t tell you what it is, because who knows who’s reading this. And if I told everyone on the Internet, it wouldn’t be a surprise. And we can’t have that now, can we?

Okay, I’ll give you a hint. It’s kind of like this movie, only different! 🙂

After the panel, I got an awesome photo op with screenwriter/director Bobby Farrelly (of Dumb & Dumber, There’s Something About Mary, Me, Myself & Irene, and Shallow Hal fame, to name a few).

Me and Bobby Farrelly!

Me and Bobby Farrelly!

There were so many great panels and people at the festival. Not only the awesome Emily Best (whose picture I didn’t get, but whose card I did) of Seed and Spark, an awesome crowdfunding platform, but an amazing group that deconstructed the work of Billy Wilder. We even got to watch clips of some of my favorite parts of Billy Wilder films.

Sunset Blvd.!

The Apartment!

Double Indemnity!

I reminded two of the panelists afterward that Raymond Chandler co-wrote Double Indemnity. Far as I’m concerned, that scene is pure Chandler! 🙂

And, finally, Some Like It Hot!

Not only that, but I got to hear José Rivera discuss the script for The Motorcycle Diaries. And we got to see scenes from that movie, too.

And here I am with José. I have no idea why I’m leaning so far to my left, but there you go.

Me and Jose Rivera!

Me and Jose Rivera!

Here’s a shot of the Driskill Hotel, where much of the conference took place. I didn’t stay there, but it’s a really awesome and historic building.

The Driskill Hotel

The Driskill Hotel

And here are two of the awesome theatres, where they showed movies.

The Paramount and the State Theatres!

The Paramount and the State Theatres!

And here’s a picture of the bats that fly over the bridge on Congress Street. Or, to be more precise, a photo of someone else’s picture, which I happened to see at the airport on the way home.

Austin's famous bats!

Austin’s famous bats!

Finally, here are the words I always see when I go to Austin. So, of course, I had to take a picture.

aff-austinweird

theend

This entry was posted in Austin Film Festival, Movies, Travel, Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Great Times at the Austin Film Festival

  1. This sounds like an AMAZING festival (even with all those creepy bats flying around). From your description, it strikes me as a more empowering film festival than some, because a participant can mingle with folks in the Biz. (Just look at you and Bobby Farrelly! Nice going!)

    Thanks for sharing your experiences. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Debbi says:

    Wow! That’s odd about the commenting. Yet another issue I need to raise with my web mistress! Normally, my comments are moderated, but I couldn’t find yours. How frustrating! 😦

    Anyhow, it really WAS amazing! And meeting those people was a total highlight! 🙂

    Thank you so much!

    Like

Leave a Reply

