Original vs. Remake: ‘The Thomas Crown Affair’

thomas-crown-affair-posters

I’d love to say that I absolutely adored Steve McQueen and Faye Dunaway in the original version of this film. Except it would be a flat-out lie.

Maybe it was all the hype around this movie, but honestly … I was unimpressed.

First, you have the split-screen effects used at various points. Cute and clever at the time, I guess. Now, woefully outdated.

Second, those long, ever-so-meaningful scenes where McQueen (as Thomas Crown, rich big-shot and thief) stares silently into the eyes of Dunaway (as insurance company investigator Vicki Anderson, who’s pegged Crown as the one who ripped off her client), as the tune “Windmills of Your Mind” noodles in the background. Like that interminable incredibly long chess scene. One word: BORING!

I may have nodded off before they finally got around to kissing! 🙂

Then, there are those long (beautifully photographed) walks on the beach. They fly in Crown’s glider. They ride in his dune buggie. I guess there’s supposed to be a subtext of conflict. Well, if there is subtext, they buried it deep under so much nothingness, it numbs the mind.

Finally, the ending. It eventually and blessedly comes, and then it just lays there. And I was like, “That’s it? Well, that sucked.”

It sucked so bad, I thought my head would explode!

HeadSplode2

I think the only reason the original ended as it did was that Steve McQueen was too cool to be bested in any manner by a woman, of all things. That’s how the 60s were. Frankly, I don’t miss that.

Now, the remake … so much better.

thomascrownaffair1

First, the leads are played by Pierce Brosnan and Rene Russo (the investigator whose character’s name was changed to Catherine Banning for some reason). And definite sparks fly between them in their scenes.

The story is much better crafted. Not only does Russo have to find a way to nail Brosnan, but given the romance that develops, she also finds herself at odds with the cops. Especially one cop in particular, played by Denis Leary.

thomascrownaffair2

The remake ditches the slow, staring parts between Crown and the investigator, focusing instead on creating great plot, building suspense, and showing us fascinating characters with complex feelings.

Finally, the ending. This time I didn’t know what to expect of the end. But when it arrived, I breathed a sigh of relief and said, “That was awesome.”

So, in my opinion, the remake of The Thomas Crown Affair has it all over the original. Hands down, and thumbs up! 🙂

Hand showing thumbs up. All on white background.

This entry was posted in Crime Movies, Movie Reviews, Remake Reviews and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Original vs. Remake: ‘The Thomas Crown Affair’

  1. Agreed. I liked the remake much better than the original. (Although Faye Dunaway had a pretty fab wardrobe in the original.)

    I guess part of my problem is I don’t get the deal with Steve McQueen, and I felt this film (like others of his films) are self-indulgent. This one was out of control!

    And WHAT ON EARTH was going on with those insane split screens?!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Debbi says:

      OMG! Yes, yes, yes! And Faye Dunaway did have a totally fab wardrobe. She was a totally awesome lady, who was smarter than she came across in the end.

      I like Steve McQueen, but really … REALLY! 🙂

      The ending just … sucked.

      The remake is SO much better! Renee Russo was kickass and Pierce Brosnan! *swoon*

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I guess I am odd because I appreciate both films. Yes, the conventions of the original are dated but I do love the fact that McQueen doesn’ t have to make an effort to be cool. He just is unlike Matthew McConnaughey who tries too hard. Pierce is like McQueen in that he doesn’ t have to try to be cool either. He & Russo had terrific chemistry.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Debbi says:

    LOL! Yeah! There you go! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

