My Tribute to Powers Boothe

It’s been days since the news came out that Powers Boothe is gone. According to Wikipedia, Boothe was the youngest of three boys who grew up on a cotton farm in Texas. He was the first in his family to attend college, eventually earning a master’s degree in drama.

I’ve been a fan of Powers Boothe ever since I saw him in Southern Comfort, a truly frightening action thriller movie.

There was something about the way he could deliver a line that, even when he was mad or the situation was tense, he could make me laugh.

I also loved him in Tombstone and Deadwood.

Not to mention Sin City!

But my favorite Powers Boothe part was as a heroic figure — the proverbial “white knight” detective, Philip Marlowe.

So … for your viewing pleasure, here’s Season One, Episode One of the HBO series, Philip Marlowe, Private Eye! 🙂

Rest in peace, Powers Boothe.

This entry was posted in Actors, Tributes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to My Tribute to Powers Boothe

  1. He was one of my favorite character actors. I first noticed him as Jim Jones. What moved me was all the subtle intensity just bubbling beneath the surface. Powers had a way about him that just oozed sex appeal even if he was being menacing. One of his best roles was as the tormented Sheriff Virgil Potter in U-Turn. He will be missed.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Lovely post. Absolutely love him in Tombstone – that last pic you have, that’s perfect.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

