My Review of ‘The Locket’ (1946)

This movie puts the definite lie to the notion that screenwriters shouldn’t use flashbacks to tell stories. The Locket is notable for its multiple and multi-layered flashback scenes.

Via YouTube

The story opens with a woman named Nancy (played by Laraine Day) on the verge of marriage to a man named John (played by Gene Raymond). However, before the nuptials start, John is taken aside for a little chat with Dr. Harry Blair (played by Brian Aherne), who has a whopper of a tale for him.

This is the part where the screen does that dissolve-y thing and we go back in time to when Nancy and Blair were married—at least, that’s what he says.

About two or three (or four?) flashbacks later, we discover that Nancy grew up the child of a housekeeper. And her mother’s employer was a total bitch jerk. The bitch woman accuses Nancy of stealing a locket that her own daughter secretly gave her. And, let’s just say, this leads to serious repercussions for Nancy.

Via The Nitrate Diva.

The story is well-told and surprisingly unconfusing—especially given all those freaking flashbacks. It reflects the interest at that time in psychoanalysis. And, while it may not feature sets designed by Salvador Dali a la Spellbound, the narrative is structured in a way that gives the climactic ending the feel of a genuine tragedy.

Via The Nitrate Diva.

I should mention that, tucked amid the flashbacks are scenes of Nancy’s life with an artist named Norman Clyde, played by Robert Mitchum. It may qualify as one of the most un-Mitchum roles he tackled.

Via The Nitrate Diva.

I also think this film owes a debt to Citizen Kane, in that it uses flashback to explore how one childhood event can profoundly affect a person’s entire life.

And here’s a question for those of you who know the movie: was Nancy’s marriage to John a result of deliberate planning over the years or was it a random fluke of noir world fate?

Another B-picture that’s been sorely overlooked by most people who aren’t complete movie maniacs cinephiles! 🙂

This entry was posted in Film Noir, Movie Reviews and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to My Review of ‘The Locket’ (1946)

  1. mil54 says:

    I agree, it’s a great movie. I’m interested in flashbacks because they work the way the mind works, non-linearly, and I’m interested because this story-telling technique is unique to the Noir genre (as far as I know), or at least it’s always been a staple. I think there are only a few noirs that don’t use flashbacks, but I don’t know offhand which ones, or how correct I am. Bottom line, I’m interested in flashbacks because I’m writing a blog about Sorry, Wrong Number, which is the most unusually-structured film I think I’ve ever seen. Great direction by Anatole Litvak, who was of course trained in Europe, had stage experience, an all-round Renaissance guy, and his discovery shots are truly artful and genuinely frightening, and suitably claustrophobic.

    Thanks for your blog about The Necklace – I really liked it.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. realthog says:

    Glad to see this one getting a prod into the limelight. You’re right: it’s a great movie!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. The style of the movie, reminds me of “The Devil Is a Woman” (1935). Although there is no marriage or childhood in it, one man telling another man about a woman both have in common, the many flashbacks, et al. And speaking of “The Locket” (1946) having a very non-Mitchum role. Marlene Dietrich does a very non-Dietrich role, out of her comfort zone, in “The Devil Is a Woman”. Do check out my old review, from November 2016. You might like it.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. This is such a great movie, and I’m glad you featured it on your site. I had no idea what to expect when I first saw it – what a ride! Laraine Day is SO GOOD here.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.